GE Express

Nineteen political parties and four independent candidates are contesting the August 10 General Election. There are a total of 150 candidates.

This was confirmed by the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) in a media release yesterday. The PNM is the only party contesting all 41 seats, the EBC added. The UNC is contesting 39 seats while the People’s Empowerment Party is fielding 28 candidates. The other parties and number of candidates are:

Trinidad Humanity Party: 7

New National Vision: 6

Movement for Social Justice: 5

Congress of the People 4

Movement for National Development: 3

Progressive Democratic Patriots: 2

National Coalition for Transformation: 2

Progressive Party: 1

Independent Liberal Party: 1

Democratic Party of Trinidad and Tobago: 1

Nationwide Organisation of We the People: 1

Unrepresented People’s Party: 1

Trinidad and Tobago Democratic Front: 1

Unity of the People: 1

The National Party: 1

One Tobago Voice: 1

Of the four independent candidates, three are contesting seats in Trinidad — Chaguanas East, Moruga/Tableland and St Joseph. And one independent candidate is presenting himself in the constituency of Tobago West.