Navin and Ravi Kalpoo

Navin and Ravi Kalpoo

Click here to return to the IOY website

The Kalpoo brothers, Navin and Ravi, became local heroes following last October's unprecedented flooding in Central Trinidad, rushing out to help rescue over 300 people in distress in Kelly Village. This instinct to serve those in need was born through their mother, Doolarie Kalpoo, who was know for her tireless community work. When she lost her battle to cancer, the brothers continued their humanitarian work, always lending a hand where needed with no exptectation to be rewarded with fame or fortune.

Here's a list of the past recipients of the Express Individual of the Year

2018: The Kalpoo Brothers

2017: Men’s 4 by 4 Relay Team

2016: Akeem Stewart

2015: Keith Rowley

2014: Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco)

2013: George Bovell

2012: Keshorn Walcott

2011: Shanntol Ince

2010: Kamla Persad Bissessar

2009: Veera Bhajan

2008: Just Because Foundation

2007: Gregory Solis

2006: Sookoo Sonnylal

2005: Soca Warriors

2004: Anand Ramlogan

2003: George Daniel

2002: Sr. Rosario Hackshaw

2001: Darrel Brown

1999: Diana Mahabir- Wyatt

1998: Wendy Fitzwilliam

1997: Earl Lovelace

1996: Peter Minshall & Ato Bolden

1995: Basdeo Panday

1994: Zalayhar Hassanali

1993: Brian Lara

1992: Derek Walcott

1991: Patrick Manning

1990: Dennis McComie

1989: Everald Gally Cummings & Strike Squad

1988: Dr. Romesh Mootoo

1987: Rhonda Maingot

1986: ANR Robinson

1984: Selwyn Richardson

1983: Dr. Bal Ramdial

1982: Nesta Patrick

1981: Sir Ellis Clarke

1980: Fr Gerry Pantin

1979: Michael de Labastide

1976: Hasley Crawford


Attorney Odai Ramischand has come to the defence of his “beach boaster” daughter, Samantha R…