Sports Daily

After seven months of inactivity, local football kicks off this weekend with the 24-team Ascension Invitational Tournament which offers $2,252,300 in prize money and has attracted some of the top Pro League and Super League teams in the country.

The tournament is sponsored by a sport clothing brand, with American and local investors, which is seeking entry into the Caribbean market, beginning in Trinidad and Tobago. The competition was launched yesterday at the Normandie Hotel, St Ann’s.

Get caught up with news from the news leader
Subscribe now and get access to the Trinidad Express E-paper

The Ascension League is expected to be a one-round pre-season tournament and is expected to be the forerunner to the T-League, a merger of the TT Pro League and TT Super League. However, uncertainty still surrounds the planned September 22 start of the T-League. And Anthony Harford yesterday revealed that the sponsors are interested in also funding a second-round continuation, should the T-League be further postponed.


The Trinidad and Tobago Football Referees Association (TTFRA) has said that it “condemns in the strongest terms the attack on the officials officiating the Morvant-Caledonia AIA vs Defence Force match played on Wednesday 18th September 2019.”

HE HAS not made a definitive decision, but David John-Williams has hinted he may not contest a second term as Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president when elections are held in November.

CHELSEA FONG, Derron Douglas and Chloe Fraser are expected to be in the spotlight when the Trinbago Open Junior Table Tennis Tournament serves off today at National at National Racquet Centre, Orange Grove Main Road, Tacarigua.

NINE players captured two titles in the Solo Junior Badminton Tournament last week Saturday at the National Racquet Centre, Taca­rigua. And the list contains three players from the under-11 division—Ali­yah Urquhart, Andrew Babwah and Edward Ramcharan—as well as three—T’Shelle Barnes, Aditya Maharaj and Jace Smith—for the under-13 cate­gory and Zion St Rose, Janiah Boodoosingh and Travis Sinanan.