Pravin Tambe

FIRST INDIAN IN CPL: Leg spinner Pravin Tambe

Trinbago Knight Riders manager Colin Borde expressed satisfaction with the outcome of the draft saying that he is happy with the balance of the squad that will be going for their fourth Caribbean Premier League T20 crown.

Even as the Covid-19 pandemic rages around the globe with over 10 million infected and more than 500,000 deaths, and while final Government approval has not yet been received, the CPL seems set to go ahead as intended with local, regional and international players in the mix.

The 2020 edition of the competition is scheduled to take place between August 18 and September 10. However the venues and fixtures are yet to be made public. However it is the intention of the CPL organisers to play all matches in Trinidad.

Yesterday the CPL took another step forward towards getting the 2020 edition up and running by announcing the final squads of the six franchises.

The most successful team in the history of the tournament, TKR, filled out their roster by signing 48-year-old leg spinner Pravin Tambe, a bowler with experience in the Indian Premier League. He will become the first Indian to play at the CPL.

TKR have also brought back Australian leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed who was part of their championship-winning team in 2018, and they have also signed New Zealand wicketkeeper Tim Seifert and Zimbabwean batsman Sikandar Raza, while at the same time retaining the core of their local players.

“The plans for player acquisition went well,” Borde told the Express yesterday.

“We retained many of the players that we wanted. We always wanted to be heavy on local players as part of our philosophy of building capacity here in Trinidad,” he added.

The TKR lineup includes franchise stalwarts Dwayne and Darren Bravo, Sunil Narine and last-season import Kieron Pollard, who stepped into the captain’s chair in the absence of Dwayne through injury.

Other local players making the cut were young fast bowlers Jayden Seales and Anderson Phillip, wicketkeeper Amir Jangoo, all-rounder Tion Webster, left-arm spinners Akeal Hosein and Khary Pierre and opening batsman Lendl Simmons.

Of the 17 members of the TKR squad, 11 are from Trinidad and Tobago.

“We are happy with the balance of the squad,” said Borde.

“The input of the senior players and coach (Brendan) McCullum, who has experience playing in the Caribbean, is of great value when looking for a balanced team. Colin Munro is part of the TKR DNA. Fawad Ahmed played a huge part in helping us win in 2018 and we are very happy to have him back with us,” Borde continued.

“As always, we have a list put together by the selection committee and we try to get as many players that are available based in many factors. We are very happy with what we have,” Borde concluded.

Adding to the international flavour of the competition, defending champions, the Barbados Tridents, have signed superstar Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan, powerful English opener Alex Hales and Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis.

Their other overseas players are Englishman Harry Gurney and Afghani Rahmanullah Gurbaz. They have also retained the core of their championship winning side from last year and they have signed Kyle Mayers to join a strong set of Caribbean players.

Meanwhile, the Guyana Amazon Warriors have retained 13 players from the team that went unbeaten during the league stage of last year’s tournament and have added New Zealander Ross Taylor and Afghani Naveen-ul-Haq. Imran Tahir, Chris Green, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul and Sherfane Rutherford all return to the Amazon Warriors for 2020.

The St Kitts and Nevis Patriots have signed Australians Chris Lynn and Ben Dunk and have also recruited Ish Sodhi and Sohail Tanvir. Rassie Van Der Dussen returns to the Patriots after a successful spell with the team in 2018 and they also welcome back Fabian Allen, Evin Lewis, Sheldon Cottrell and their captain Rayad Emrit.

The Jamaica Tallawahs are looking to rebuild after a poor season in 2019 which saw them finish in last place in the table. They have recruited Carlos Brathwaite who was released by the Patriots. They have also signed Nepalese leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane and South African left arm wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi. They have brought in exciting Pakistani batsman Asif Ali and retained their leading run scorer from last season, Glenn Phillips. These overseas players will combine with a strong local contingent which includes Andre Russell, Rovman Powell and Oshane Thomas.


TKR: Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Tim Seifert, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Pravin Tambe, Jayden Seales, Amir Jangoo, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Ali Khan.

TRIDENTS: Rashid Khan, Jason Holder, Marcus Stoinis, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Hayden Walsh Jr, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Raymon Reifer, Kyle Mayers, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young, Justin Greaves, R Gurbaz, Shayan Jahangir.

AMAZON WARRIORS: Imran Tahir, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Ross Taylor, Shimon Hetmyer, Chris Green, Qais Ahmad, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford, Naveen Ul Haq, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmead Nedd, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble, Jasdeep Singh.

PATRIOTS: Chris Lynn, Ben Dunk, Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, R van der Dussen, Sohail Tanvir, Ish Sodhi, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Rayad Emrit, Dennis Bulli, Alzarri Joseph, Joshua Da Silva, Dominic Drakes, Colin Archibald, Jon Russ Jaggesar, Sunny Sohal.

TALLAWAHS: Andre Russell, S Lamichane, Carlos Brathwaite, Rovman Powell, Tabraiz Shamsi, Glenn Phillips, Chadwick Walton, Oshane Thomas, Asif Ali, Fidel Edwards, Preston McSween, Andre McCarthy, Nicholas Kirton, Jeavor Royal, Nkrumah Bonner, Veerasammy Permaul, Ryan Persaud.

ZOUKS: Rilee Rousouw, Mohammed Nabi, Daren Sammy, Colin Ingram, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Anrich Norteje, Chemar Holder, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, Noor Ahmad, Kimani Melius, Leniko Boucher, Kavem Hodge, Javelle Glen, Saad Bin Zafar.


AFTER stunning title favourite Vaughn Wilson a couple days earlier, Kobe James must have been expecting to run away with the title in the OMADA Centre—GSM Tennis Open Invitational Top 8 Tournament Thursday at Shaw Park, Tobago.

Trinbago Knight Riders’ (TKR) spinner Khary Pierre will be using the 2020 Hero Caribbean Premier League T20 competition to bolster his reputation and reclaim his place in the West Indies squad ahead of the next ICC T20 World Cup, now postponed from later this year to 2021.

FORMER Test pacer Fidel Edwards will not represent Hampshire in the revamped English domestic championship which bowled off on Saturday, following a mutual decision by both parties.

When does “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again” drift into “Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result is a definition of insanity”?

Arsenal captain Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang once again lit up Wembley as his brace ensured FA …