Shaniqua Bascombe

WINNERS’ ROW: Track sprinter Shaniqua Bascombe, left, and cyclist Nicholas Paul, right, pose for a photo-op with Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, Shamfa Cudjoe, during the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee’s 25th Annual Awards Ceremony, held at the Hyatt Regency in Port of Spain, last evening. Bascombe copped the TTOC Junior Sportswoman of the Year award while Paul was named Sportsman of the Year. --Photo: JERMAINE CRUICKSHANK

Cycling dominated the two major awards at the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) 25th Annual Awards Ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad, last evening.

World record-holder Nicholas Paul and Tokyo 2020 women’s road cycling qualifier Teniel Campbell copped the prestigious Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards, respectively, at the annual gala event.

Paul broke the world record for the Men’s flying 200 at the Elite Pan American Track Cycling Championships in Bolivia back in October. He claimed the title in that event and was part of the team that grabbed the Men’s Team Sprint.

Those efforts followed on his Lima Pan American Games gold medal in the Men’s Individual Sprint, blazing a new Pan Am Games record along the way.

He was also part of the gold-medal winning Team TTO Men’s Team Sprint trio, a medal that was stripped recently by the Panam Sports for a positive doping test of one of the team members. That decision is under appeal before the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).

Campbell’s year was highlighted by her two silver medals at the Lima Games last July in the Women’s Individual Time Trial and the Women’s Road Race in Peru. Her year culminated with the announcement of her historic Tokyo 2020 qualification last month . Her mother Euphimia Huggin collected on her behalf.

Athletes Shaniqua Bascombe and Tyriq Horsford claimed the Junior Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year awards, respectively. TTOC president Brian Lewis described it as a “year of tremendous highs.”

TTOC Awards

Honour roll:

Sportswoman of the

Year- Teniel Campbell

Sportsman of the

Year- Nicholas Paul

Junior Sportswoman of the Year- Shaniqua Bascombe

Junior Sportsman of the Year- Tyriq Horsford

Sports Personality if the Year- Erin Hartwell

People’s Choice

Award- Nicholas Paul

Future Is Female

Award- Gabriella Wood

Alexander B Chapman Award- Gunness Persad


Leg-spinner Vasant Singh snatched a four-wicket haul while Matthew Nandu struck his second straight half-century as West Indies Under-19s wrapped up their six-match tour of England with a 17-run victory, yesterday

Legendary fast bowler Sir Andy Roberts believes selectors have erred by including out-of-form Chris Gayle in the Twenty20 World Cup squad and says the veteran left-hander should have quit international cricket two years ago instead.

The love affair between Jamaal Shabazz and Guyanese football was rekindled when the Trinidadian was yesterday named head coach of the Guyanese men’s football team. Shabazz signed a four-year contract which will expire in 2026.

The usually unflappable, quiet and reserved Mikel Arteta opened up this week and revealed the enormous pressure he has been under due to Arsenal’s dreadful start to the season. 

Women’s senior team coach James Thomas is assuring that Trinidad and Tobago’s footballers wi…