Isa Deen. Photo courtesy Gerrard Wilson photography.

Trinbago SocaRacer took a commanding lead at the second leg of the 2018 Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC) at the Frankie Boodram Wallerfield International Racing Circuit last weekend.

Leading the charge for the local team were Aqeeb Ali, Marc Gill and Ronald Wortman. Ali won all three races in the GP 1 category to be crowned champion, with Gill taking champion honour in the GP2 category, also winning all three races, while Wortman was crowned GP 3 champion.

Preliminary results show host Trinidad and Tobago holding a huge lead having amassed 928 points, with Barbados in second position on 273, and Guyana with 248 holding third. Jamaica is a distant fourth on 73 points.

The two-day event showcased the best drivers and cars from the English speaking Caribbean, and one of the outstanding performances came in the Radical Cup Races where 16-year-old Issa Deen won the feature race to be crown champion in that category.


GP 1 champion - Aqeeb Ali (Trinidad)

GP 2 champion - Marc Gill (Trinidad) 

GP 3 champion - Ronald Wortman (Trinidad)

Get caught up with news from the news leader
Subscribe now and get access to the Trinidad Express E-paper

GP 4 champion - Mark Vierra (Guyana) 

GP 5 champion - Mark Maloney (Barbados) 

Motorbike champion - Matt Truelove (Guyana)

The CMRC moves to barbados for the third leg while the fourth and final leg will be hosted by Guyana. Jamaica was host of the first leg.


Although members of the TT Pro League Board remain members of the Trinidad and Tobago Footba…

West Indies return to the scene of their last triumph in Test cricket, hoping for a repeat a…

West Indies captain Jason Holder copped the Cricket West Indies/West Indies Players Association Player of the Year award during the seventh annual CWI/WIPA Awards, held at Sandals Grand Antigua Resort and Spa in Antigua on Monday night.