Shaniqua Bascombe Carifta trials 2019
CLASS ACT: Shaniqua Bascombe, centre, bolts to victory in the girls' under-17 100 metres "A" final, on day one of the Carifta trials, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, on Saturday. Bascombe clocked 11.89 seconds. Taejha Badal, left, finished second in 12.01. And Reneisha Andrews, right, was fourth in 12.56.

Ayla Stanisclaus completed a qualification double on the second and final day of the 2019 Carifta trials, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, yesterday (Sunday). Stanisclaus whipped the field in the girls’ under-20 200 metres “A” final, getting to the line in 23.92 seconds. The impressive clocking was eight-hundredths of a second faster than the 24-flat Carifta qualifying time.

Stanisclaus, who achieved the 100m standard on day one, was one of four athletes to qualify in two events at the trials.

Yesterday, Christopher Crawford qualified in the boys’ under-20 shot put with a winning throw of 16.35 metres. On Saturday, Crawford attained the discus standard. Already a qualifier in the girls’ under-20 javelin, Antonia Sealy completed the girls’ open heptathlon with 4,648 points. Even before the 800m, the final discipline in the hep, Sealy had gone past the qualifying score of 4,000.

Kelsey Daniel qualified in the boys’ under-20 triple and long jump events. Following Saturday’s triple jump success, the Kaizen Panthers athlete disturbed the sand at 7.50m to take top honours in yesterday’s long jump. The runner-up, Jaydon Antoine also beat the 7.26 Carifta standard, the Neon Wolves jumper producing a 7.33m leap in round five. Third spot went to Savion Joseph, whose 6.86m jump was well short of the standard.

In addition to the four double qualifiers, 15 athletes qualified in one event—four on Saturday and 11 yesterday—for a grand total of 19 at the two-day meet.

Tamia Badal returned a time of one minute, 00.40 seconds to win the girls’ under-20 400m hurdles, the Texas-based athlete beating the 1:01.50 standard by more than a second. Rinaldo Moore was also a day two qualifier, winning the boys’ under-17 400m hurdles in 56.11 seconds.

Veayon Joseph made light work of the 45.00 metres boys’ under-17 javelin standard, the reigning Carifta Games champion throwing 53.22m to secure top spot in the event. Anthony Diaz also qualified, the runner-up producing a solid 47.98m effort.

Ianna Roach bettered the 13.50m girls’ under-20 shot put standard three times en route to victory. Her best throw was 13.59m. The top three finishers in the girls’ under-17 discus went past the 32-metre standard. Shakera Kirk triumphed with a 35.93m throw, while Lalenii Grant and Brianna Percy were second and third, respectively, at 33.75 and 33.56.

Jayden Scott had no problems attaining the 41.00 boys’ under-17 discus standard, the Mercury thrower landing the implement 44.35m. And Joel Andrews qualified in the boys’ under-20 pole vault with a 3.70m clearance.

The 2018 Carifta Games boys’ under-17 400m champion, Avindale Smith won yesterday’s under-20 200m “A” final in 21.68 seconds. The Abilene athlete was 19-hundredths of a second outside the 21.49 qualifying time.

Get caught up with news from the news leader
Subscribe now and get access to the Trinidad Express E-paper

Cougars sprinter Shaniqua Bascombe missed out on the 24.15 seconds girls’ under-17 200m standard. The 2018 First Citizens Sports Foundation Youth Sportswoman of the Year won the “A” final in 24.36, forcing Taejha Badal to settle for second spot in 24.91.

In the tightest of finishes, Shakeem McKay got the better of Devin Augustine in the boys’ under-17 200m “A” final. Both sprinters were credited with the same time, 22.02 seconds—agonisingly close to the 22-flat standard. In the photo finish, McKay had the edge, earning victory by one-thousandth of a second.

In a race against the clock, Memphis Pioneers runner Rae-Anne Serville gave all she had in a bid to achieve the 2:15.00 girls’ under-20 800m standard. But with no one to push her, it was too big a task, Serville winning the two-lap event in 2:16.59.

The 2019 Carifta Games will be staged in the Cayman Islands between April 20 and 22.


Although members of the TT Pro League Board remain members of the Trinidad and Tobago Footba…

West Indies return to the scene of their last triumph in Test cricket, hoping for a repeat a…

West Indies captain Jason Holder copped the Cricket West Indies/West Indies Players Association Player of the Year award during the seventh annual CWI/WIPA Awards, held at Sandals Grand Antigua Resort and Spa in Antigua on Monday night.